Count Basie – The Transcription Recordings (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 0730167337960 Categories: , Tag:



Release Date:  2023

Label:  Hindsight


Track List

Side A

  1. One O’Clock Jump
  2. Gee, Baby, Ain’t I Good to You (feat. Jimmy Rushing)
  3. Untitled Stomp
  4. Lady Be Good (feat. Artie Shaw)
  5. Jumpin’ at the Woodside (feat. Lester Young)
  6. Do Nothing ‘Til You Hear from Me (feat. Thelma Carpenter)
  7. Basie Boogie

Side B

  1. Avenue “C”
  2. Baby, Won’t You Please Come Home (feat. Jimmy Rushing)
  3. Dinah
  4. Bird Calls (feat. Artie Shaw)
  5. Call Me Darling (feat. Thelma Carpenter)
  6. Rock-a-Bye Basie
  7. Every Tub



The legendary Count Basie is one of the all-time great innovators of the Big Band era. This collection of rare swinging big band transcriptions was originally intended for Radio Broadcast only during the Second World War in 1944.Transcriptions were special phonograph recordings with superior audio quality produced exclusively for broadcast on radio. Unavailable for the public to purchase, the United States government had many recordings made to send out to army radio networks across the world and were seen as important in keeping forces entertained and connected to life back home. Basie’s orchestra personnel were ever-changing as thousands of musicians were called for duty, which affected the many dance orchestras of the ’40s. The recordings here feature incredible talents of the time, including Bill “Count” Basie, Artie Shaw, Rudy Rutherford, Illinois Jacquet, Lester Young, Harry “Sweets” Edison, Jimmy Rushing and Thelma Carpenter.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required