Curtis Mayfield – Curtis (Limited Light Blue Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 603497837717 Categories: , , Tag:



Release Date:  2023

Label:  Rhino

Originally released in 1970


Track List

Side A

  1. (Don’t Worry) If There’s A Hell Below We’re All Going To Go
  2. The Other Side Of Town
  3. The Makings Of You
  4. We The People Who Are Darker Than Blue

Side B

  1. Move On Up
  2. Miss Black America
  3. Wild And Free
  4. Give It Up



The first solo album by the former leader of the Impressions, Curtis represented a musical apotheosis for Curtis Mayfield — indeed, it was practically the Sgt. Pepper’s album of ’70s soul, helping with its content and its success to open the whole genre to much bigger, richer musical canvases than artists had previously worked with. All of Mayfield’s years of experience of life, music, and people were pulled together into a rich, powerful, topical musical statement that reflected not only the most up-to-date soul sounds of its period, finely produced by Mayfield himself, and the immediacy of the times and their political and social concerns, but also embraced the most elegant R&B sounds out of the past.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required