Curtis Mayfield – Superfly (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 081227980436 Categories: , , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2009

Label:  Rhino


Track List

Side A

  1. Little Child Runnin’ Wild
  2. Pusherman
  3. Freddie’s Dead
  4. Junkie Chase

Side B

  1. Give Me Your Love
  2. Eddie You Should Know Better
  3. No Thing On Me
  4. Think
  5. Superfly



180 Gram Pressing, Die-Cut Jacket

Cut from the original masters.

A post-Impressions Curtis Mayfield recorded one dynamic solo project after another in the 1970s, but if a listener could own only one of them, Superfly would be the ideal choice. The sleek yet earthy soundtrack to one of the ’70s’ most celebrated blaxploitation films, Superfly is full of riveting, sometimes chilling sociopolitical commentary reflecting on the drugs, violence and crime plaguing the inner city. From the infectious title song to Freddie’s Dead (a reflection on a junkie’s tragic life as troubling as it is poignant) to the hard-hitting Pusherman (brilliantly interpreted by rapper Ice-T in 1988), Superfly is clearly Mayfield’s finest hour.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required