Dax Riggs – We Sing Of Only Blood Or Love


In stock

SKU: 76798111042 Categories: , , Tag:


Release Date: 2007

Label: Fat Possum Records


Track List

  1. Demon Tied To A Chair In My Brain
  2. Didn’t Know Yet What I’d Know When I Was Bleedin’
  3. Night Is The Notion
  4. Radiation Blues
  5. The Terrors Of Nightlife
  6. A Spinning Song
  7. Truth In The Dark
  8. Ouroboros
  9. Living Is Suicide
  10. Forgot I Was Alive
  11. Ghost Movement
  12. Dog Headed Whore
  13. Wall Of Death
  14. Scarlett of Heaven nor Hell
  15. Deathbryte



WE SING OF ONLY BLOOD OR LOVE is the new album from Dax Riggs. The 15-track record finds the Houma, Louisiana singer/songwriter who’d previously fronted Deadboy & the Elephantmen (and long before that Acid Bath) finally making his maiden voyage under his own name. Written and recorded in the aftermath of extensive touring behind Deadboy’s critically acclaimed WE ARE NIGHT SKY, WE SING OF ONLY BLOOD OR LOVE is as much the debut of an astonishing new musical voice as it is the culmination of a career that’s consumed more than half of Dax’s young life.

We Sing of Only Blood or Love is a dirty swamp-rock album from start to finish. Brooding guitars give way to Riggs’ soulful crooning on the Soundgarden-esque “Night Is the Notion.” “Radiation Blues” is a post-apocalyptic rocker with a slow, churning blues verse that picks up speed during a distorted guitar-filled chorus. Much of the album is heavy and raw, including the industrial “Truth in the Dark,” but a hint that industrial is just another manifestation of glam comes when “Living is Suicide” evolves into a dark new wave section with pounding piano chords that resemble Elton John’s “Crocodile Rock.”





You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required