Dixieland Jazz Banjo (Sheet Music Book)


In stock


Release Date:  2015

Publisher:  Hal Leonard

ISBN:  9781480361140

Softcover,  120 pages


Authentic Lead Sheets With Chord Diagrams for Tenor & Plectrum Banjo

Tenor and plectrum banjos are key ingredients of Dixieland jazz music. The bright percussive chord strums and flashy tremolo picking glissandos help define the genre. In the 1920s, when Dixieland jazz was at its zenith, the four-string banjo was the fretted instrument of choice because it could easily be heard above the simultaneous improv of the band’s clarinet, cornet, saxophone, and trombone frontline. (Electric guitars were not invented until a decade later.) The chord voicings in these expertly crafted arrangements were selected so that the melody notes were always within reach to enable the user to play chord/melody style if desired. The lead sheets consist of lyrics and two sets of chord diagrams – tenor and plectrum – positioned throughout the arrangements. This collection of 45 songs includes: Ain’t Misbehavin’ • Alexander’s Ragtime Band • Basin Street Blues • Bill Bailey, Won’t You Please Come Home • Honeysuckle Rose • I Got Rhythm • Lazy River • St. Louis Blues • Sweet Georgia Brown • ‘Way down Yonder in New Orleans • and more.


  • After You’ve Gone
  • Ain’t Misbehavin’
  • Ain’t She Sweet
  • Alabama Jubilee
  • Alabamy Bound
  • Alexander’s Ragtime Band
  • At Sundown
  • Avalon
  • Baby Face
  • Basin Street Blues
  • Bei Mir Bist Du Schon (Means That You’re Grand)
  • Bill Bailey, Won’t You Please Come Home
  • Blue Skies
  • Breezin’ Along With The Breeze
  • Bye Bye Blackbird
  • Bye Bye Blues
  • California, Here I Come
  • Chinatown, My Chinatown
  • ‘Deed I Do
  • Dinah
  • Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans
  • Georgia On My Mind
  • Honeysuckle Rose
  • I Got Rhythm
  • In A Shanty In Old Shanty Town
  • Ja-Da
  • The Jazz-Me Blues
  • Lazy River
  • Mississippi Mud
  • My Baby Just Cares For Me
  • My Blue Heaven
  • My Honey’s Loving Arms
  • Original Dixieland One-Step
  • Royal Garden Blues
  • St. Louis Blues
  • Some Of These Days
  • Somebody Stole My Gal
  • Stompin’ At The Savoy
  • Struttin’ With Some Barbecue
  • Summertime
  • Sweet Georgia Brown
  • That’s A Plenty
  • ‘Way Down Yonder In New Orleans
  • The World Is Waiting For The Sunrise
  • Yes Sir, That’s My Baby

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required