Duane Betts – Wild & Precious Life (Vinyl 2LP)


In stock

SKU: 020286242611 Categories: , , Tags: , ,



Release Date:  2023

Label:  Royal Potato Family


Track List

Side A

  1. Evergreen
  2. Waiting on a Song
  3. Forrest Lane

Side B

  1. Colors Fade (Featuring Nicki Bluhm)
  2. Saints to Sinners

Side C

  1. Stare at the Sun (Featuring Derek Trucks)
  2. Under the Bali Moon

Side D

  1. Sacred Ground
  2. Cold Dark World (Featuring Marcus King)
  3. Circles in the Stars



Wild & Precious Life offers up a timeless version of American music – a mix of blues, rock, folk, and country that could’ve blanketed the FM radio airwaves during any number of decades. It’s a modern album inspired by some of the best parts of the past, full of sharply crafted songs written in a state of deep reflection and Duane’s journey toward sobriety. “Waiting on a Song” is a timeless tribute to patience, faith, and the muse itself, laced with fiery fretwork from Duane’s Les Paul Gold Top. “Circles in the Stars” is equal parts cowboy campfire song and folk ballad, with Duane singing a love letter to his wife over the earthy resonance of a vintage, post-WWII Martin D28 acoustic guitar that once belonged to his father. The twin guitar harmonies that define “Stare at the Sun” breathe fresh life into southern rock. “I was inspired by a conversation I’d had with Derek, where he was talking about my father’s guitar playing,” Duane explains. “He told me, ‘Your dad is one of those players who’s not afraid to stare directly into the sun,’ and I loved that line. I was already working on a new song, and Derek’s sentiment gave the song a center.” Even the album’s instrumental track, “Under the Bali Moon,” seems to conjure up it’s own storyline, thanks to a combination of evocative slide guitar and non-western twinkles of piano.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required