Duke Heitger – Duke Heitger’s Steamboat Stompers


In stock


Release Date:  1998

Label:  GHB Records


Track List

1. Roll On, Mississippi
2. Just Gone
3. Float Me Down The River
4. Steamboat Stomp
5. I’m Sorry I Made You Cry
6. Riverside Blues
7. I’ve Been Floating Down The Old Green River
8. Hesitation Blues
9. Loading Up The Mandy Lee
10. Tia Juana
11. That’s A Plenty
12. St. Louis Shuffle
13. Basin Street Blues
14. California, Here I Come
15. Muskrat Ramble
16. Kiss To Build A Dream On
17. Hindustan
18. When The Saints Go Marching In



Bass – Tom Saunders
Clarinet – Tom Fischer
Drums – Hal Smith
Piano – Steve Pistorius
Trombone – Mike Owen
Trumpet – Duke Heitger



After leaving Banu Gibson’s band, trumpeter Duke Heitger began working regularly on a steamship in New Orleans. This CD features his band performing a variety of 1920s tunes with a few standards thrown in. Heitger is heard in top form in sextets with trombonist Mike Owen, Tom Fischer on reeds, either Steve Pastorius or David Boeddinghaus on piano, bassist Tom Saunders, and Chris Tyle or Hal Smith on drums. Highlights include “Roll On, Mississippi, Roll On,” “Steamboat Stomp,” “Tia Juana,” “St. Louis Shuffle,” and “California, Here I Come.” This CD is easily recommended to Dixieland and trad fans.Recorded in 1998.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required