Ella Fitzgerald – Clap Hands, Here Comes Charlie! (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 602458986785 Categories: , , Tag:



Release Date:  2024

Label:  Verve (Acoustic Sounds Series)


Track List

Side A

  1. Night In Tunisia
  2. You’re My Thrill
  3. My Reverie
  4. Stella My Starlight
  5. ‘Round Midnite
  6. Jersey Bounce
  7. Signing Off

Side B

  1. Cry Me A River
  2. This Year’s Kisses
  3. Good Morning Heartache
  4. (I Was) Born To Be Blue
  5. Clap Hands, Here Comes Charlie!
  6. Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most
  7. Music Goes ‘Round And ‘Round



180-gram LPs pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

Stoughton Printing gatefold old-style tip-on jackets

Series supervised by Chad Kassem CEO of Acoustic Sounds

Mastered by Bernie Grundman from the original analog tapes

Fourteen numbers from the heyday of swing, composed sometime between 1930 and 1945 — played and sung time and time again in ballrooms, or on the radio to advertise biscuits or war bonds, were recorded by Ella in completely new and personal interpretations in 1961. No one should be put off by the rather unfortunate cover. Clap Hands… is absolutely top notch as regards musicality, perfect recording quality, superb accompaniment by a small ensemble, with room for improvisations; it offers a wonderful opportunity to discover something new in these evergreens, despite the occasionally banal lyrics. The songs of this recording conjure up bygone days, with listeners in the 21st century being offered a highly personal homage to one of the most successful periods in the 100-year history of jazz.

Seeking to offer definitive audiophile grade versions of some of the most historic and best jazz records ever recorded, Verve’s Acoustic Sounds vinyl reissue series utilizes the skills of top mastering engineers and the unsurpassed production craft of Quality Record Pressings. All titles are mastered from the original analog tapes, pressed on 180-gram vinyl and packaged by Stoughton Printing Co. in high-quality gatefold sleeves with tip-on jackets. The releases are supervised by Chad Kassem, CEO of Acoustic Sounds, the world’s largest source for audiophile recordings.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required