Funky Butt Brass Band – You Can Trust The Funky Butt Brass Band


In stock


Release Date:  2011

Label:  Independent


Track List

  1. Do That Thang
  2. St. Louis Breakdown
  3. Door Poppin’
  4. South Broadway Stumble
  5. The Devil Went Down To NOLA
  6. Fill My Belly
  7. A Certain Girl
  8. Back Pocket
  9. St. James Infirmary
  10. Stayin’ Alive
  11. Biscuit
  12. The Devil’s Taxi



  • Matt Brinkmann – sousaphone
  • Aaron Chandler – trombone, vocals
  • Tim Halpin – guitar, vocals
  • Adam Hucke – trumpet, vocals
  • Ben Reece – saxophone, vocals
  • Ron Sikes – drums, congas, shakere, tambourine, rubboard
  • Tom Martin – piano track 7
  • Dave Grelle – organ tracks 2,3,5,8,12



“You Can Trust The Funky Butt Brass Band” is the second release from this St. Louis-based group of musicians who respect and revere the New Orleans brass band tradition. It continues the band’s mission to blend traditional jazz styles with a wide range of unexpected musical genres. In the case of the latest CD, that means marrying the traditional dirge of “St. James Infirmary” with an uptempo Latin groove, and infusing the FBBB’s interpretations of such pop standards as the Bee Gee’s “Stayin’ Alive” and Charlie Daniels’ “The Devil Went Down To Georgia” with a New Orleans-flavored twist. The record also includes original tunes that might be right at home on a Dirty Dozen or Rebirth album, including the street beat of “Do That Thang” and the swingin’ “Fill My Belly,” an ode to the culinary delights of the Crescent City. The bottom line for the band, however, is to create a listening experience that’s original and occasionally surprising, but always a booty-shaking good time.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required