Grant Dermody – My Dony (CD)


In stock

SKU: 67827727218 Categories: , Tags: ,


Release Date: 2019

Label: Independent


Track list

  1. My Dony
  2. One Step At A Time
  3. It Hurts To Be In Love
  4. Springtime Blues
  5. Real Time Man
  6. Too Late To Change Your Mind
  7. Corner Strut
  8. I Can’t Turn Back Time
  9. Great Change
  10. Morning Train
  11. Come On Sunshine
  12. 35-59
  13. Hometown Blues



Harmonica player Grant Dermody is from Seattle but traveled to Louisiana to record this album with producer and guitarist Dirk Powell, with whom Grant worked on his previous album, 2015’s Sun Might Shine On Me. That one was acoustic but this time it’s a full band affair, with Grant handling the vocals and harp and Dirk on guitar, keys and B/V’s, as well as engineering the sessions. Rhiannon Giddens’ rhythm section is in support, bassist Jason Sypher and drummer Jamie Dick, and there are guest appearances by Corey Ledet on accordion and washboard. There are eight originals, three each from Grant and Dirk and two credited to the whole band, two traditional tunes and three covers.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required