Howlin’ Wolf – Message To The Young (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 8435395503430 Categories: , Tags: ,



Release Date:  2023

Label:  Elemental Music


Track List

Side A

  1. If I Were A Bird
  2. I Smell A Rat
  3. Miss James
  4. Message To The Young

Side B

  1. She’s Looking Good
  2. Just As Long
  3. Romance Without Fiance
  4. Turn Me On



This was the eigth album by blues master Howlin’ Wolf released by Chess Records in 1971. Often considered an attempt at offering the masses a psychedelic record, its sound ranges from acid-rock, to blues, to funk, and back again. The title song is Wolf’s attempt at reaching the youth of the era in a beautiful spoken word ballad which can easily be summed up in two words: “Be Yourself.” Arranged and conducted by Cash McCall, this album presents Wolf in the company of legendary pianist Sonny Thompson.

Arranged By, Piano – Sonny Thompson
Cover – John Sposato
Drums – Bob Crowder, Tyrone Smith
Engineer – Dave Purple, Malcolm Chisholm
Guitar – Bryce Roberson, Jon Stocklin
Liner Notes – Pete Welding
Organ – John Jeremiah
Photography By – Jerry Griffith
Producer, Supervised By, Conductor – Cash McCall, Sonny Thompson


Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required