Huey “Piano” Smith & His Clowns – Having A Good Time (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 7427116347622 Categories: , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2020

Label:  Honey Pie Records


Track List

Side A

A1. Rockin’ Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu
A2. Little Chickee Wah Wah
A3. Little Liza Jane
A4. Just A Lonely Clown
A5. Hush Your Mouth
A6. Don’t You Know Yockomo

Side B

B1. Havin’ A Good Time
B2. Don’t You Just Know It
B3. Well I’ll Be John Brown
B4. Everybody’s Whalin’
B5. High Blood Pressure
B6. We Like Birdland



Huey “Piano” Smith was an important part of the great New Orleans piano tradition, following in the footsteps of Professor Longhair and Fats Domino to take his place among the Crescent City’s R&B elite. Huey Smith was born in New Orleans on January 26, 1934, and began playing the piano at age 15. At the dawn of the ’50s, Smith backed New Orleans guitar legends Earl King and Guitar Slim, and quickly became a popular session pianist, playing on records by the cream of the New Orleans R&B scene: Smiley Lewis (the classic “I Hear You Knockin'”), Lloyd Price, and Little Richard. During the mid-’50s, Smith began leading his own band, the Clowns, which usually featured popular local blues singer and female impersonator Bobby Marchan on lead vocals. Smith & the Clowns signed with the Ace label and scored a breakout Top Five R&B hit in 1957 with “Rockin’ Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Flu,” which despite becoming a classic rock & roll standard didn’t even make the pop Top 40, thanks to reticent white radio programmers. The following year, Smith scored his biggest hit with the double-sided smash “Don’t You Just Know It”/”High Blood Pressure,” which reached the pop Top Ten and the R&B Top Five.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required