Idris Muhammad – Power Of Soul (CD)


In stock

SKU: 88697244942 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date: 1974 / 2020

Label: CTI / Epic

Track List

  1. Power Of Soul
  2. Piece Of Mind
  3. The Saddest Thing
  4. Loran’s Dance



  • Idris Muhammed – drums
  • Grover Washington Jr. – soprano & tenor sax
  • Bob James – Keyboards
  • Gary King – bass
  • Joe Beck – guitar
  • Ralph MacDonald – percussion
  • Randy Brecker – trumpet, flugelhorn



This album is one of the reasons that Idris Muhammad is regarded as The Drumming King Of Groove. With the feel of this album, you think “New York” jazz funk. To paraphrase King Curtis, a tablespoon of Brecker Brothers, a pinch of Bob James, a cup of Gary King on bass and some fat-back drums from Buddy Miles or in this case, Idris. Add some some super sax work from Grover Washington, he really burns on this one, and some great guitar from Joe Beck and you have a real New York “Soul Stew.” Idris shines on the title track, the Jimi Hendricks cover, “Power of Soul”. The jewel in the crown is the Grover Washington Jr. Composition, “Loren’s Dance”. Listen to a young Randy Brecker, & Grover’s solos. Truly outstanding! This project is way ahead of time.


Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required