Irma Thomas – It’s Raining – The Allen Toussaint Sessions (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 8436559469869 Categories: , , Tags: ,



Release Date:  2023

Label:  Waxtime


Track List

Side A

  1. It’s Raining
  2. I May Be Wrong
  3. It’s Too Soon To Know
  4. I Done Got Over It
  5. Two Winters Long
  6. For Goodness Sake
  7. Whenever
  8. Gone
  9. That’s All I Ask

Side B

  1. I Did My Part
  2. A Good Man
  3. Cry On
  4. Girl Needs A Boy
  5. Don’t Mess With My Man
  6. (You Ain’t) Hittin On Nothing
  7. Ruler Of My Heart
  8. Somebody Told You
  9. Set Me Free



180 Gram Vinyl

Known as the “Soul Queen of New Orleans”, singer Irma Thomas (born in 1941) is arguably the most underrated soul singer ever. Although her voice and musical expression are unparalleled, she never achieved the same degree of fame as her contemporaries Aretha Franklin and Etta James. Nevertheless, her 50-year career has been highly praised in recent years, and she even won a Grammy in 2007. This 18-track vinyl release compiles all of the sessions she recorded with renowned producer Allen Toussaint, who also composed most of the songs. Here is one of America’s most distinctive and classic singers, a treasure from the golden age of soul music.

All tracks recorded in New Orleans, between 1959 and 1962.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required