Jazzfest – The New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival (Book & 5-CD Set)


Out of stock


*Oversized book – International customers must contact us at factorymessage@gmail.com for a shipping quote.*

Release Date:  2019

Publisher:  Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

ISBN:  9780970494290

Hardcover,  155 pages

Few music festivals are as rich, profound, and joyous as the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival, now entering its 50th year. With 50 tracks recorded live, Jazz Fest captures the festival’s ecstatic spontaneity, which defines the essence and vitality of American popular music. Ever since its inception a half century ago, Jazz Fest has exuberantly expressed the unique confluence in New Orleans of Native American, African, Caribbean, European, Hispanic, and Asian communities. With essays and annotations by Keith Spera, Karen Celestan, Robert Cataliotti, Jeff Place, Rachel Lyons, and Jon Pareles, plus photos spanning the festival’s history, this box set delivers the sights and sounds of being at Jazz Fest for those who have not yet been there, and rekindles memories for the hundreds of thousands who return to New Orleans year after year. 5 discs, over 300 minutes of music, 136-page book.


Track List

1. Indian Red – By the Golden Eagles
2. Welcome to the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival – By Larry McKinley
3. One Night Only (The March) – By Trombone Shorty
4. Free to Be – By Donald Harrison, JR
5. Basin Street Blues – By Danny Barker
6. A Streetcar Named Desire – By Terence Blanchard
7. Royal Garden Blues – By Kermit Ruffins Big Band
8. Bring Me Flowers While I’m Living / Rub a Little Boogie – By Champion Jack Dupree
9. Back Home Again in Indiana – By George Wein & Newport All-Stars
10. Louisiana 1927 – By John Boutte

1. Yes We Can Can – By Allen Toussaint
2. Trick Bag – By Earl King
3. Ruler of My Heart – By Irma Thomas
4. Dizzy Miss Lizzy – By Snooks Eaglin
5. Ain’t Got No Home – By Clarence “Frogman” Henry
6. Big Chief Got the Golden Crown – By the White Eagles
7. Big Chief – By Professor Longhair
8. Iko Iko / Brother John / Saints Go Marching in – By Dixie Cups
9. Red Beans – By Marcia Ball
10. Litanie Des Saints / Gris-Gris Gumbo Ya Ya / I Walk on Gilded Splinters – By Dr. John

1. How Ya Gonna Clap? – By Ray Hackett
2. Blackbird Special – By the Dirty Dozen Brass Band
3. Hey Now, Baby – By Henry Butler
4. Secret Love – By Germaine Bazzle & Red Tyler Quintet
5. Jazznocracy – By Al Belletto Big Band
6. Summertime – By Original Liberty Jazz Band
7. My Bucket’s Got a Hole in It – By Preservation Hall Jazz Band
8. I Want to Be at That Meeting / Golden Gate Gospel Train – By the Zion Harmonizers
9. Old Rugged Cross – By Irma Thomas
10. Can’t Nobody Do Me Like Jesus – By Raymond Myles & the Gospel Soul Children
11. I Can Go to God in Prayer – By Johnson Extension

1. Hard to Stop – By Buckwheat Zydeco
2. Paper in My Shoe – By Boozoo Chavis
3. Midland Two-Step – By the Savoy Family Cajun Band
4. Disco Et Fais Do-Do – By Bruce Daigrepont
5. Recherche D’acadie – By Beausoleil
6. Yellow Moon – By the Neville Brothers
7. When the Levee Breaks – By John Campbell
8. It Don’t Mean a Doggone Thing – By John Mooney
9. Starlight Diamond / Jimmy Reed Medley: You Don’t Have to Go / Baby, What You Want Me to Do / Going T – By Kenny Neal
10. What Is Success – By Allen Toussaint & Bonnie Raitt
11. Double-Eyed Whammy – By Tommy Ridgley

1. Fire on the Bayou – By Funky Meters
2. Take the “A” Train – By Clarence “Gatemouth” Brown
3. Blue Moon Rising – By Walter “Wolfman” Washington
4. Happy Home – By Deacon John
5. Rain Alert – By Larry McKinley
6. Blue Tarp Blues – By Sonny Landreth
7. Back on Dumaine – By Anders Osborne
8. Thorn in Her Side – By the Subdudes
9. N.O. Bounce – By Big Freedia
10. Smoke My Peace Pipe – By Wild Magnolias
11. Amazing Grace / One Love – By the Neville Brothers



You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required