Jimmie Noone’s Quartet and Richard M. Jones Jazzmen – Chicago Dixieland in the Forties


In stock


Release date:  2012

Label:  Smithsonian Folkways Recordings


Track List

Jimmie Noone’s Quartet

  1. A Porter’s Love Song to a Chambermaid
  2. Goodbye, Don’t Cry
  3. Blues for Roy
  4. Lady, Be Good
  5. Memories of You
  6. Honeysuckle Rose

Richard M. Jones Jazzmen

  1. 29th and Dearborn
  2. New Orleans Hop Scop Blues
  3. Jazzin’ Babies Blues
  4. Canal Street Blues



Jimmie Noone’s Quartet

  • Jimmie Noone – clarinet
  • John Frazier – string bass
  • Wallace Bishop – drums
  • Frank Smith – piano

Richard M. Jones Jazzmen

  • Richard M. Jones – piano
  • John Lindsay – bass
  • Darnell Howard – clarinet
  • Baby Dodds – drums
  • Preston Jackson – trombone
  • Bob Shoffner – trumpet



Both natives of New Orleans and prolific members of Chicago’s jazz scene in the 1920s, clarinetist Jimmie Noone and multi-instrumentalist Richard M. Jones were among the first musicians to leave the Big Easy for the Windy City. Although they occasionally played together, this album presents separate performances, including Jones’ last recording session in 1944.


You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required