John Coltrane – Both Directions At Once: The Lost Album Deluxe Edition (Vinyl 2-LP Set)


Out of stock

SKU: 602567493013 Categories: , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2018

Label:  Impulse! Records


Track List

Side A

1. Untitled Original 11383
2. Nature Boy
3. Untitled Original 11386 [Take 1]
4. Vilia

Side B

1. Impressions [Take 3]
2. Slow Blues
3. One Up, One Down [Take 1]

Side C

1. Vilia
2. Impressions
3. Impressions
4. Impressions

Side D

1. Untitled Original 11386
2. Untitled Original 11386
3. One Up, One Down



  • John Coltrane – tenor sax, soprano sax
  • McCoy Tyner – piano
  • Jimmy Garrison – bass
  • Elvin Jones – drums



Unheard classic Coltrane revealed for the first time!

Read the New York Times story: “…on this newly discovered collection, we hear something close to the breadth of what Coltrane and his associates were delivering onstage.”

Unknown until 2004 and unheard until now, these recordings by the John Coltrane Quartet are, as Sonny Rollins says in the liner notes, like finding a new room in the Great Pyramid.

Featuring the Classic Quartet — John Coltrane, McCoy Tyner, Jimmy Garrison and Elvin Jones — and recorded at the end of a two-week run at Birdland, the music on this album represents one of the most influential groups in music history both performing in a musical style it had perfected and reaching in new, exploratory directions that were to affect the trajectory of jazz from that point forward.

The standard version incorporates seven tracks, two of which are two completely unheard, brand new original compositions, as well as Coltrane classics like Impressions and Vilia. The deluxe version incorporates seven alternate takes of some of the tracks from the standard — a must-have for any Coltrane fan.


You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required