Lee Dorsey – Ya! Ya!


In stock

SKU: 84365594630032 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date:  2017

Label:  Hoodoo Records


Track List

1 Ya Ya
2 Give Me You
3 Do-Re-Mi
4 People Gonna Talk
5 Chin Chin
6 Mess Around
7 Eenie Meenie Mini Mo
8 One And One
9 Yum Yum
10 Ixie Dixie Pixie Pie
11 Behind The 8-Ball
Bonus Tracks
12 Lover Of Love
13 Lottie Mo
14 Give Me Your Love
15 Rock
16 Lonely Evening
17 Lil Liza Jane
18 Great Googa Mooga
19 Hoodlum Joe
20 When I Met My Baby
21 Someday
22 You’re Breaking Me Up



Baritone Saxophone – Alvin “Red” Tyler*
Bass – Chuck Badie
Drums – John Boudreaux
Guitar – Roy Montrell
Lead Vocals – Lee Dorsey
Piano – Allen Toussaint, Marcel Richardson
Producer [Original Recordings] – Allen Toussaint, Bobby Robinson, Marshall Sehorn*
Tenor Saxophone – Harold Battiste
Trumpet – Melvin Lastie



This essential release presents Dorsey’s classic debut album, Ya! Ya!. It was originally issued in 1961 by the small Fury label and was produced by the always fascinating Allen Toussaint and the legendary Bobby Robinson.

The LP contains highlights from the Crescent City scene like the album title and #1 hit, “Ya Ya”, plus other joyful R&B cuts such as “Eenie MeenieMini Mo,” “Yum Yum,” “Chin Chin,” and “Give Me You,” to name just a few. These tracks feature Dorsey’s sly, playful, and demonstrative vocals, plus accompaniment by saxophonist Harold Battiste and his band,which features some of New Orleans’ finest session cats. In addition to the original long play, this remastered collector’s CD contains 11 bonus tracks, consisting of overlooked sides from the same period.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required