Leo Bud Welch – I Don’t Prefer No Blues


In stock

SKU: 85425500510 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date: 2015

Label: Big Legal Mess


Track List

  1. Poor Boy
  2. Girl In The Holler
  3. I Don’t Know Her Name
  4. Goin’ Down Slow
  5. Cadillac Baby
  6. Too Much Wine
  7. I Woke Up
  8. So Many Turnrows
  9. Pray On
  10. Sweet Black Angel



At age 82, bluesman Leo ‘Bud’ Welch rocks on stage like a teenager – dancing and spinning as he beats out jagged chords and grimy solos on his pink, sparkle-covered guitar. That raw youthful energy and Welch’s old-school juke-joint jones blend full-throttle in the 10 songs on I Don’t Prefer No Blues, his second release for Fat Possum Records’ subsidiary Big Legal Mess. The album is a garage-blues manifesto that weds waves of prickly six-string distortion and gutbucket d rums with Welch’s smoke-and-ash voice and mud-crusted guitar – and lives up to Fat Possum’s history of producing edgy but deeply rooted recordings by artists like Junior Kimbrough and R.L. Burnside.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required