Lightnin’ Slim – Rooster Blues / Lightnin’ Slim’s Bell Ringer


In stock

SKU: 029667151726 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date:  1994

Label:  Ace Records UK


Track List

Rooster Blues
1 Rooster Blues 2:32
2 Long Leanie Woman 2:07
3 My Starter Won’t Work 2:49
4 G.I. Slim 2:27
5 Lightnin’s Troubles 2:41
6 Bed Bug Blues 2:33
7 Hoo-Doo Blues 2:19
8 It’s Might Crazy 2:35
9 Sweet Little Woman 2:13
10 Tom Cat Blues 2:42
11 Feelin’ Awful Blues 2:56
12 I’m Leaving You Baby 2:27
Lightnin’ Slim’s Bell Ringer
13 Love Me Mama 2:27
14 She’s My Crazy Little Baby 2:38
15 Have Mercy On Me Baby 2:18
16 Winter Time Blues 2:40
17 If You Ever Need Me 3:08
18 Mean Ole Lonesome Train 3:15
19 Baby Please Come Back 2:29
20 Love Is Just A Gamble 2:45
21 Somebody Knockin’ 3:05
22 You Give Me The Blues 2:42
23 Don’t Start Me Talking 2:43
24 You Move Me Baby 2:30



When people talk about Louisiana swamp blues, this is what they’re talking about. Excello Records’ first foray into albums came with this wonderful collection of singles by Lightnin’ Slim, largely issued around the success of the title track, an R&B hit in 1960. “Long Leanie Mama,” “My Starter Won’t Work,” “It’s Mighty Crazy,” “Hoo-Doo Blues,” “Tom Cat Blues,” “Lightnin’ Troubles,” “G.I. Slim,” and “Feelin’ Awful Blues” are all certified swamp blues classics and about as lowdown as the genre can get possibly get. With Lazy Lester on harmonica for the majority of the tracks here, the stripped-down approach to Slim’s brand of blues gives these sides a decidedly front-porch ambience, with the added pulsating tape echo and oddball percussive effects just making everything on here sound even more doom-laden. An essential blues purchase.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required