Lloyd Price – Mr Personality: The R&b Hits 1952-60 (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 824046163327 Categories: , , Tag:



Release Date:  2024

Label:  Acrobat


Track List

Side A

  1. Lawdy Miss Clawdy
  2. Oooh-Oooh-Oooh
  3. Restless Heart
  4. Ain’t It a Shame
  5. Tell Me Pretty Baby
  6. Just Because
  7. Stagger Lee
  8. Where Were You (On Our Wedding Day)
  9. Have You Ever Had the Blues?

Side B

  1. Personality
  2. I’m Gonna Get Married
  3. Three Little Pigs
  4. Come Into My Heart
  5. Wont’cha Come Home
  6. Lady Luck
  7. Never Let Me Go
  8. No If’s – No And’s
  9. Question



Lloyd Price – Mr Personality: The R&B Hits 1952-60 / Without question, Lloyd Price was one of the key protagonists for the rock ‘n’ roll explosion of the mid-fifties. Taking the gritty style of New Orleans R&B, where he started, he adapted it with innovative instrumental arrangements alongside the emergence of rock ‘n’ roll during the late ’50s. Before the likes of Martin Luther King started smashing the cultural barriers down, Lloyd “Mr Personality” Price was already bringing the black and white youth together through his music. Of his 1952 hit, Lloyd pronounced “I revolutionised the South! Before Lawdy Miss Clawdy white kids were not really interested in this music”. He went on to achieve a remarkable run of pop and R&B successes throughout the decade with over 30 chart entries, a combined 11 top ten hits and 4 no. 1’s. This stunning 18 track collection concentrates on the biggest R&B hits he enjoyed from the debut smash hit Lawdy Miss Clawdy in 1952 through, Personality, I’m Gonna Get Married, Come Into My Heart to his last top ten hit in 1960 Question. Along the way, the listener can hear not only how ‘Mr Personality’ influenced rock ‘n’ roll, but also how he embraced the new genre with great success.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required