Lonnie Smith – Funk Reaction (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 7119691295312 Categories: , , , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2024

Label:  Mr Bongo


Track List

Side A

1. Funk Reaction
2. For the Love of It
3. Babbitt’s Other Song

Side B

1. It’s Changed
2. When the Night Is Right
3. All in My Mind



Hammond B3 organ virtuoso Lonnie Smith at his most dance floor-friendly!

Originally released on Sonny Lester’s Groove Merchant Records successor, Lester Radio Corporation, the album feels more like a collaborative band-orientated project as opposed to a solo artist outing. Featuring some elite session players of the time, including Steve Gadd on drums, guitarist Lance Quinn and bassist Bob Babbitt, the album is tied together expertly by songwriter, arranger and conductor Brad Baker.

It’s worth the price tag alone for the superb disco-funk nugget “Funk Reaction.” Other highlights include the only Lonnie Smith penned track on the album “All In My Mind,” that shines with a beautiful Stevie Wonder-esque quality and the slick guitar-led floater “When The Night Is Right,” written by and featuring guitarist Richie Hohenburger. Elsewhere, “For The Love Of It” and the Brad Babbitt written “Babbitt’s Other Song” serve up classic jazz funk flavors, both featuring stellar tenor saxophone from Eddie Daniels.

As a whole, the album is a superb example of Lonnie Smith’s ability to merge jazz with elements of funk, soul, disco and beyond, experimenting with ideas whilst broadening the scope of both his audience and appeal. Fans of The Blackbyrds, the CTI / Kudu stable and ‘70s George Benson will dig this!

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required