Louis Armstrong – Hot Fives And Sevens ( 4-CD Set )


In stock

SKU: 788065010027 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date: 2002

Label: JSP Records


Track List

Disc: 1

  1. My Heart
  2. Yes! I’m in the Barrel
  3. Gut Bucket Blues
  4. Come Back Sweet Papa
  5. Georgia Grind
  6. Heebie Jeebies
  7. Cornet Chop Suey
  8. Oriental Strut
  9. You’re Next
  10. Muskrat Ramble
  11. Don’t Forget to Mess Around
  12. I’m Gonna Gitcha
  13. Droppin’ Shucks
  14. Who’ Sit
  15. He Likes It Slow
  16. King of the Zulus
  17. Big Fat Ma and Skinny Pa
  18. Lonesome Blues
  19. Sweet Little Papa
  20. Jazz Lips
  21. Skid-Dat-De-Dat
  22. Big Butter and Egg Man
  23. Sunset Cafe Stomp
  24. You Made Me Love You
  25. Irish Black Bottom


Disc: 2

  1. Willie the Weeper
  2. Wild Man Blues
  3. Chicago Breakdown
  4. Alligator Crawl
  5. Potato Head Blues
  6. Melancholy Blues
  7. Weary Blues
  8. Twelfth Street Rag
  9. Keyhole Blues
  10. S.O.L. Blues
  11. Gully Low Blues
  12. That’s When I’ll Come Back to You
  13. Put ‘Em Down Blues
  14. Ory’s Creole Trombone
  15. Last Time
  16. Struttin’ With Some Barbecue
  17. Got No Blues
  18. Once in a While
  19. I’m Not Rough
  20. Hotter Than That
  21. Savoy Blues


Disc: 3

  1. Fireworks
  2. Skip the Gutter
  3. Monday Date
  4. Don’t Jive Me
  5. West End Blues
  6. Sugar Foot Strut
  7. Two Deuces
  8. Squeeze Me
  9. Knee Drops
  10. Symphonic Raps
  11. Savoyagers’ Stomp
  12. No, Papa, No
  13. Basin Street Blues
  14. No One Else But You
  15. Beau Koo Jack
  16. Save It, Pretty Mama
  17. Weather Bird
  18. Muggles
  19. Hear Me Talkin’ to Ya?
  20. St. James Infirmary
  21. Tight Like This
  22. Knockin’ a Jug


Disc: 4

  1. I Can’t Give You Anything But Love
  2. Mahogany Hall Stomp
  3. Ain’t Misbehavin’
  4. Black and Blue
  5. That Rhythm Man
  6. Sweet Savannah Sue
  7. Some of These Days
  8. Some of These Days
  9. When You’re Smiling (The Whole World Smiles With You)
  10. When You’re Smiling (The Whole World Smiles With You)
  11. After You’ve Gone
  12. Ain’t Got Nobody
  13. Dallas Blues
  14. St. Louis Blues
  15. Rockin’ Chair
  16. Song of the Islands
  17. Bessie Couldn’t Help It
  18. Blue Turning Grey over You
  19. Dear Old Southland
  20. Rockin’ Chair
  21. I Can’t Give You Anything But Love


After parting from King Oliver, Armstrong embarked on an intensive series of recordings with the Hot Five and then with the Hot Seven. He stunned the musical world with unprecedented recorded displays of virtuosity and emotion remastered here to near perfect quality the extent of Armstrong’s gifts can be judged for the first time in ninety years. The notes are informative and expert. Small wonder that the New York Times dubbed this compilation “The Recording of the Millenium.”.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required