Louis Armstrong – In Scandinavia (4CD Set)


Out of stock


Release Date: 2007

Label: Storyville Records


Track List

Disc: 1

1. I Cover The Waterfront
2. Dinah
3. Tiger Rag
4. Chinatown My Chinatown
5. You Rascal You
6. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
7. Twelfth Street Rag
8. Steak Face
9. When It’s Sleepy Time Down South
10. Indiana
11. A Kiss To Build A Dream On
12. Way Down Yonder In New Orleans
13. Coquette
14. Lover Come Back To Me
15. Can Anyone Explain?
16. After You’ve Gone
17. Russian Lullaby
18. Bugle Blues (Ole Miss)

Disc: 2

1. When It’s Sleepy Time Down South
2. New Orleans Function
3. Pennies From Heaven
4. Tin Roof Blues
5. Muskrat Ramble
6. Basin Street Blues
7. Big Daddy Blues
8. You’re Just In Love
9. Stompin’ At The Savoy
10. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
11. High Society
12. When It’s Sleepy Time Down South
13. Indiana
14. The Gypsy
15. Pretty Little Missy
16. Struttin’ With Some Barbecue

Disc: 3

1. When The Saints Go Marchin’ In
2. Basin Street Blues
3. Tin Roof Blues
4. Sweet Georgia Blues
5. St. Louis Blues
6. When It’s Sleepy Time Down South
7. Intro
8. When It’s Sleepy Time Down South
9. A Kiss To Build A Dream On
10. When It’s Sleepy Time Down South
11. When It’s Sleepy Time Down South
12. Indiana
13. I Get Ideas
14. Tenderly – You’ll Never Walk Alone
15. The Faithful Husar
16. Old Man River
17. Mack The Knife
18. After You’ve Gone
19. Ole Miss

Disc: 4

1. Basin Street Blues
2. Tiger Rag
3. Now You Has Jazz
4. Christopher Columbus
5. Black And Blue – Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans
6. The Bucket’s Got A Hole In It
7. Kokomo
8. Struttin’ With Some Barbecue
9. Royal Garden Blues
10. When The Saints Go Marchin’ In
11. Mack The Knife
12. Back O’town Blues
13. Ole Miss
14. St. James Infirmary
15. Cabaret
16. You’ll Never Walk Alone  



In 1933, Louis Armstrong was filmed playing before a live audience in Copenhagen, performing “I Cover the Waterfront,” “Dinah” and “Tiger Rag.” In addition to being an exciting document to watch, it ranks as possibly the first in-concert jazz performance saved for posterity. Its soundtrack launches the Louis Armstrong In Scandinavia four-CD set which includes all of the existing music from Armstrong’s many visits through the years to that part of the world. There are three songs from a Stockholm concert a week after the 1933 film and two numbers by the 1949 All-Stars that include Jack Teagarden and Earl Hines. These are erratically recorded and there is a lot of fooling around, but it is great to hear Satch’s 1933 solo on “On the Sunny Side of the Street” and the clowning by Teagarden and Barney Bigard on “Twelfth Street Rag.” The remainder of this box is better recorded, featuring the Louis Armstrong All-Stars of 1952, 1955, 1959 and 1967. Most of the material was previously unreleased until these sets became initially available as individual CDs. Armstrong is in wonderful form throughout, enjoying himself entertaining large enthusiastic crowds. Even though one can sing some of his set solos note-for-note while hearing these versions for the first time, Satch’s sound and feeling generate a lot of excitement. While Trummy Young is the trombonist on the great majority of the performances (Tyree Glenn is on the 1967 date), it is interesting to compare the clarinet solos of Bob McCracken, Peanuts Hucko and Edmond Hall, who sometimes are featured in different years on the same songs. Pianist Marty Napoleon is surprisingly boppish in the 1952 concert, much different than Billy Kyle would be during his long stint with Pops. There is much to discover even on the warhorses. Armstrong fans will definitely want this joyous box.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required