Louis Armstrong – Meets Oscar Peterson (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 8436563182990 Categories: , , Tags: , , ,


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2020

Label:  20th Century Masterworks


Track List

Side A

  1. That Old Feeling
  2. Let’s Fall In Love
  3. I’ll Never Be The Same
  4. Blues In The Night
  5. How Long Has This Been Going On?
  6. I Was Doing All Right
  7. Willow Weep For Me (*)

Side B

  1. What’s New?
  2. Moon Song
  3. Just One Of Those Things
  4. There’s No You
  5. You Go To My Head
  6. Sweet Lorraine
  7. Makin’ Whoopee (*)



“Some critics have portrayed the Armstrong-Peterson encounter as if it were a heavyweight fight won on points by the younger, faster man. They can’t have been listening. Armstrong is by no means bested. It’s good to hear him on more obviously ‘modern’ material and while the accompaniments are certainly faster and busier than he would normally expect or like, he isn’t one bit discouraged. In fact one gets the feeling that while the group is working hard, Pops is merely having a fun day in the studio, doing what he had done, serenely and with grace, for years.” – PENGUIN GUIDE TO JAZZ

“Armstrong had lost none of his magic, which is apparent in his vibrant and facetious voice, imbued with striking emotion, and also in the sound of his jubilant and luminous trumpet. The two sides of Louis’ genius find a perfect balance with Oscar Peterson’s delicate playing. Jewelry of simplicity and sophistication, of joys and sorrows, of wisdom and insanity, this is an indispensable album for your collection”. – JAZZ MAGAZINE


Louis Armstrong, vocals & trumpet
Oscar Peterson , piano
Herb Ellis , guitar
Ray Brown , bass
Louis Bellson, drums

Chicago, October 14, 1957.

  • (*) BONUS TRACKS: Same personnel. Los Angeles, July 31, 1957.
Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required