Madonna – The Immaculate Collection (Vinyl 2LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 603497859344 Categories: , , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2018

Label:  Warner Records


Track List

Side A

  1. Holiday
  2. Lucky Star
  3. Borderline
  4. Like A Virgin

Side B

  1. Material Girl
  2. Crazy For You
  3. Into The Groove
  4. Live To Tell

Side C

  1. Papa Don’t Preach
  2. Open Your Heart
  3. La Isla Bonita
  4. Like a Prayer

Side D

  1. Express Yourself
  2. Cherish
  3. Vogue
  4. Justify My Love
  5. Rescue Me



Madonna’s 1990 double LP of greatest hits

If you’re only going to get one Madonna record (which is a ridiculous notion), this is the one.  You’d be missing out on some of the most incredible work soon to come after this compilation but what you would get here, is the decade she rose to fame with non-stop hit after hit.

This set compiles the cream of Madonna’s ’80s singles, from the dancefloor innocence of “Holiday” to the soul-searching pop of “Live To Tell” and “Like A Prayer” to the forward-looking, beat-crazy stylings of “Vogue.” Included are a few singles, “Vogue” among them, that didn’t make it onto any of Madonna’s proper studio albums, and a couple of cuts exclusive to the collection, most notably, Lenny Kravitz-produced, first single for this set, “Justify My Love.”

This isnt just like any other greatest hits album. All the songs on The Immaculate Collection, with the exception of the two new songs, were remixed by Shep Pettibone alongside Goh Hotoda and Michael Hutchinson through QSound, a then-new technology that gives recordings three-dimensional sound on standard stereo systems. Tracks have been edited down from their original lengths to decrease the overall running time. Minor changes and additions have been applied to every track, for example, “Material Girl” has a new outro in place of the original fade-out. “Into the Groove”, “Like a Prayer” and “Express Yourself” had exclusive versions mixed by Pettibone, just for this compilation. For a summation of ’80s pop, you can hardly do better. Seven of these songs hit number one and 13 of them made the top ten. And still Madonna was able to leave off several major hits, a measure of how picky she could afford to be. Immaculate indeed.

In the United States, The Immaculate Collection reached number two on the Billboard 200, while topping the album charts in the United Kingdom. It became Madonna’s second album to be certified Diamond by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) for shipments of over ten million copies in the United States. It also spent the second highest number of consecutive weeks at number one for a female solo artist in the United Kingdom, being at number one for a nine-week stint, before being surpassed by Adele’s 21. Additionally, the album topped the charts in Australia, Canada and Finland, and the top-five in France, the Netherlands and Spain. “Justify My Love”, the album’s lead single, became Madonna’s ninth number-one single on the Billboard Hot 100. “Rescue Me” was released as the second single and became the highest-debuting single on the Hot 100 by a female artist at that time, entering the chart at number 15 and eventually peaking at number nine. “Holiday” was reissued in Europe as the album’s third single and peaked at nine on the UK Singles Chart. The album has sold 30 million copies worldwide, making it the best-selling compilation album by a solo artist and one of the best-selling albums of all time.


Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required