Meters – Struttin (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock


*This is NOT a CD*

Release Date:  2017

Label:  Music On Vinyl


Track List

Side A

  1. Chicken Strut
  2. Live Splash
  3. Wichita Lineman
  4. Joog
  5. Go For Yourself
  6. Same Old Thing

Side B

  1. Hand Clapping Song
  2. Darlin’ Darlin’
  3. Tippi-Toes
  4. Britches
  5. Hey! Last Minute
  6. Ride Your Pony



180 gram audiophile vinyl

There is funk, and there is Funk. This here is of course the latter.

Struttin’ is the third studio album by the funk group The Meters, originally released in 1970. The first single was the song “Chicken Strut”. It reached #11 on the U.S. R&B Singles chart.

It may not appear to be drastically different than its predecessors, at least not on the surface. After all, the title of the lead single “Chicken Strut” intentionally recalls their previous biggest “Cissy Strut,” and it has the same basic Meters groove. And if the essential sound remains unchanged, that’s because that organic, earthy funk is The Meters’ signature. Other groups have tried to replicate it, but nobody ever played it better.

It was on this album The Meters introduced vocals to their style as well, with Art Neville’s leads on covers of Ty Hunter’s soulful uptown shuffle “Darling, Darling, Darling,” Jimmy Webb’s groovy ballad “Wichita Lineman,” and Lee Dorsey’s “Ride Your Pony” (the Meters provided support on the original recording).

Additional information

Weight 13 oz
Dimensions 13 × 13 × 1 in
Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required