Milt Jackson – & The Thelonious Monk Quintet (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series) (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2022

Label:  Blue Note Records


Track List

Side A

  1. Lillie
  2. Tahiti
  3. What’s New
  4. Bags’ Groove
  5. On The Scene
  6. Willow Weep For Me

Side B

  1. Criss Cross
  2. Eronel
  3. Misterioso
  4. Evidence (Alternate Take)
  5. Lillie (Alternate Take)
  6. Four In One (Alternate Take)



Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition on 180-gram LP

Vibraphonist Milt Jackson appeared on a number of Blue Note sessions throughout the bebop era in the late 1940s and early 1950s including a 1952 date under his leadership which featured the original lineup of the Modern Jazz Quartet with John Lewis on piano, Percy Heath on bass, and Kenny Clarke on drums, plus Lou Donaldson on alto saxophone.

That year Blue Note released the 10″ LP Wizard of the Vibes which included Jackson’s memorable theme “Bag’s Groove.” In 1956, Blue Note transitioned to the 12″ LP and began the fabled 1500 Series, releasing the expanded LP Milt Jackson and The Thelonious Monk Quintet BLP 1509 — with added tracks from 1948 and 1951 dates led by Monk, including a quartet date with John Simmons on bass and Shadow Wilson on drums, as well as a quintet date with Sahib Shihab on alto saxophone, Al McKibbon on bass, and Art Blakey on drums.

This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is mono, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original masters, and pressed on 180-gram vinyl at Optimal.

Milt Jackson, vibraphone
John Lewis, piano
Percy Heath, bass
Kenny Clarke, drums
Lou Donaldson, alto saxophone

Thelonious Monk Quintet
Thelonious Monk, piano
John Simmons, bass
Shadow Wilson, drums
Sahib Shihab, alto saxophone
Al McKibbon, bass
Art Blakey, drums

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required