Mississippi Fred McDowell & Johnny Woods – Mama Says I’m Crazy (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2002

Label:  Fat Possum Records


Track List

Side A

1. Shake Em’ On Down
2. Goin’ Away
3. Mama Says I’m Crazy
4. I Got A Woman
5. Red Cross Store
6. Going Down to the River

Side B

1. Standing at the Back Door
2. What’s Going to Become of Me
3. Long Haired Doney
4. John Henry
5. I Walked All Night Long



Guitar, Vocals – Fred McDowell
Harmonica – Johnny Woods



Singer-guitarist Fred McDowell was a giant of the blues who’d spent much of his life pumping gas. Johnny Woods was a scrapper who somehow cobbled out a living between gambling and drinking and playing harp. On these recordings, made in backwoods Mississippi shacks in 1967, the two bluesmen mix with primal authority. McDowell sings about love, hard times, and madness with unbridled passion as he pumps his slide ‘n’ drone acoustic guitar with rock ‘n’ roll thrust, and Woods adds hand-muted cries and commentary that’s raw as a skinned weasel. Picking out the African cadences of “Red Cross Store” or batting out their local juke-joint “hits” like McDowell’s “Shake ‘Em On Down,” the duo blend the sloppy energy of pure feel with bursts of honed virtuosic precision. The result is blues music that not only cuts to the bone, but slices through it. Whether they’re stomping out a powerhouse “John Henry” or slowly tugging every teardrop from a heartbreaker like “I Walked All Night Long,” their playing here is as addictive as moonshine.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required