Nicholas Payton – Smoke Sessions


Out of stock


Release Date: 2021

Label: Smoke Sessions Records


Track list

  1. Hangin’ In And Jivin’
  2. Big George
  3. Levin’s Lope
  4. No Lonely Nights
  5. Lullaby For A Lamppost (For Danny Barker) Part 1
  6. Lullaby For A Lamppost (For Danny Barker) Part 2
  7. Q For Quincy Jones
  8. Gold Dust Black Magic
  9. Turn-a-Ron
  10. Toys



  • Nicholas Payton – trumpet, piano, fender rhodes
  • Ron Carter – bass
  • Karriem Riggins – drums
  • George Coleman – tenor sax (“Big George” & “Turn-a-Ron”)



For a young Nicholas Payton, Miles Davis’ 1966 album ‘Four’ & More, captured live two years earlier at Lincoln Center’s Philharmonic Hall, provided a template for what music could – and should – be. Now long established as one of the most renowned musicians and composers on the scene, Payton has convened two of the legendary musicians who played with Davis on that album, bassist Ron Carter and special guest saxophonist George Coleman, to craft some exemplary sounds of his own.

With Smoke Sessionsset for release on October 29, 2021 via the label of the same name, Payton finally realizes his long-cherished dream of leading a session with Ron Carter on bass. To reignite the chemistry of the album he’d fallen in love with decades before, he also invited George Coleman to contribute to a pair of tunes. (A third contributor to ‘Four’ & More, pianist Herbie Hancock, is represented by the composition “Toys,” but Payton fills the keyboard chair on the date as well as playing trumpet). Rounding out the quartet is the esteemed drummer Karriem Riggins, a longtime collaborator of Payton’s who helps ensure that the music bridges generations as well as styles.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required