Nina Simone – The Definitive Collection (4CD Set)


Out of stock

SKU: 82404671242 Categories: , , Tag:


Release Date: 2018

Label: Acrobat Music


Track List

Disc: 1

  • Mood Indigo
  • Don’t Smoke in Bed
  • He Needs Me
  • Little Girl Blue
  • Love Me or Leave Me
  • My Baby Just Cares for Me
  • Good Bait (instrumental)
  • Plain Gold Ring
  • You’ll Never Walk Alone (instrumental)
  • I Loves You, Porgy
  • Central Park Blues (instrumental)
  • He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands
  • For All We Know
  • African Mailman
  • Blue Prelude
  • Children Go Where I Send You
  • Tomorrow (We Will Meet Once More)
  • Stompin’ at the Savoy
  • It Might as Well Be Spring
  • You’ve Been Gone Too Long
  • That’s Him Over There
  • Chilly Winds Don’t Blow

Disc: 2

  • Theme From¬†Middle of the Night
  • Can’t Get Out of This Mood
  • Willow Weep for Me
  • Solitaire
  • Since My Love Has Gone
  • Come On Back, Jack
  • Black Is the Color of My True Love’s Hair
  • Exactly Like You
  • The Other Woman
  • Under the Lowest
  • You Can Have Him
  • Summertime¬†(Instrumental)
  • Summertime (vocal)
  • Cotton-Eyed Joe
  • Return Home
  • Wild Is the Wind
  • Fine and Mellow
  • Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out
  • If Only For Tonight
  • Trouble in Mind
  • Little Liza Jane

Disc: 3

  • Porgy
  • You’d Be So Nice to Come Home To
  • Flo Me La
  • Nina’s Blues
  • In the Evening by the Moonlight
  • Rags and Old Iron
  • No Good Man
  • Gin House Blues
  • I’ll Look Around
  • I Love to Love
  • Work Song
  • Where Can I Go Without You
  • Just Say I Love Him
  • Memphis in June
  • Forbidden Fruit
  • Just in Time

Disc: 4

  • He Was Too Good to Me
  • House of the Rising Sun
  • Bye Bye Blackbird (instrumental)
  • Brown Baby
  • Zungo
  • If He Changed My Name
  • Children Go Where I Send You
  • Do Nothin’ Till You Hear from Me
  • I Got It Bad
  • Hey Buddy Bolden
  • Merry Mending
  • Something to Live For
  • You Better Know It
  • I Like the Sunrise
  • Solitude
  • The Gal From Joe’s
  • Satin Doll (instrumental)
  • It Don’t Mean A Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing)
  • I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl



Nina Simone was one of the most distinctive, individual and complex musical personalities of the second half of the 20th century, her music starting out from the base of the classical music she aspired to perform and compose throughout her career, but which encompassed other influences and styles as she became a commercial performer, recording artist and later a political activist, so that she could never be clearly categorized as a jazz, pop, gospel, R&B, folk or any other genre of artist. She made her recording debut in 1958, and the next few years were among the most prolific of her career, encompassing both studio and ‘live’ recordings as she recorded first for the Bethlehem label and then for Colpix, marking her down as a pianist and singer who was a versatile and unique interpreter of songs from across the jazz, blues and pop spectrum. This great-value 78-track 4-CD set comprises just about every recording which she released during the formative years of her career and which established her reputation, featuring the tracks from the albums “Little Girl Blue”, “Nina Simone & her Friends”, “The Amazing Nina Simone”, “Nina Simone at Town Hall”, “Nina Simone at Newport”, “Forbidden Fruit”, “Nina at the Village Gate” and “Nina Simone Sings Ellington”. It also includes tracks released on singles which were not otherwise included on albums, naturally featuring the chart hits “I Loves You Porgy”, “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out” and “Trouble In Mind”. It’s a comprehensive overview of the early career of a very special artist.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required