Percy Mayfield – The Singles Collection 1947-62 (2 CD Set)


In stock

SKU: 824046330125 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date:  2019

Label:  Acrobat Music


Track List

Disc 1

1 Jack You Ain’t Nowhere Pt. 1
2 Jack You Ain’t Nowhere Pt. 2
3 Two Years Of Torture
4 Get Way Back
5 Half Awake (Baby You’re Still A Square)
6 Two Years Of Torture
7 Leary Blues
8 How Wrong Can A Good Man Be
9 Please Send Me Someone To Love
10 Strange Things Happening
11 Lost Love
12 Life Is Suicide
13 Nightless Lover
14 What A Fool I Was
15 Prayin’ For Your Return
16 My Blues

17 Hopeless
18 Cry Baby
19 The Big Question
20 Hunt Is On
21 Louisiana
22 Two Hearts Are Greater Than One
23 Lonesome Highway
24 My Heart
25 I Dare You Baby
26 The Rivers Invitation

Disc 2

1 The Lonely One
2 Lost Mind
3 How Deep Is The Well
4 The Bachelor Blues
5 Loose Lips
6 I Need Love So Bad
7 You Don’t Exist No More
8 Sugar Mama, Peachy Papa
9 My Heart Is Crying
10 You Were Lying To Me
11 The Voice Within
12 Baby, You’re Rich
13 Are You Out There
14 Double Dealing
15 Look the Whole World Over
16 The Bluest Blues
17 Diggin’ The Moonglow
18 Please Believe Me
19 One Love
20 My Reward
21 My Heart Is A Prisoner
22 My Memories
23 When Did You Leave Heaven?
24 What Must I Do?
25 Say You Love Me
26 Ha Ha in the Daytime, Boo Hoo at Night
27 Never No More
28 I Reached For A Tear



Percy Mayfield was one of the most admired and influential R&B singers and songwriters of the post-war era, with a smooth and polished vocal style, who would undoubtedly have enjoyed an even more illustrious career had it not been interrupted during the early 1950s by injuries sustained in a car accident from which he took a long while to recover. He is perhaps best-known for writing Ray Charles’ hit “Hit The Road Jack”, leading to Charles signing him to his Tangerine label towards the end of the period covered by this anthology. This great-value 54-track 2-CD set comprises just about all his A & B sides during the first era of his career, when he had all his Top 10 R&B hits, and recorded for a variety of labels – Gru-V-Tone, Supreme/Swing Time, Specialty, Chess, Cash, Imperial, 7 Arts and Tangerine. It features his R&B No. 1 “Please Send Me Someone to Love” and his other Top 10 hits “Strange Things Happening”, “Lost Love”, “What A Fool I Was”, “Prayin’ For Your Return”, “Cry Baby” and “The Big Question”. His style of delivery and his songwriting provided a template for many artists who followed in the soul era and this collection underlines his talents as both performer and writer.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required