Pontchartrain Shakers – Pontchartrain Shakers (CD)


In stock


Release Date: 2024

Label: Southland Records


Track List

  1. Time To Make A Change
  2. Going Fishing
  3. I Need A Creole Woman
  4. Miss You Baby
  5. A5 Boogie
  6. She Don’t Know
  7. Dead Snake Blues
  8. Louisiana 1927
  9. Cain Snake
  10. We Need Love



The Pontchartrain Shakers, one of the New Orleans area’s favorite live blues bands, are Amedee Frederick and Jojjo Wight, both lifelong musicians, friends, and now partners in and out of the band.  Both have played professionally in southeast Louisiana since their teens. Working, playing music, and living on both sides of Lake Pontchartrain, the two formed the band in 2018 and named it for all their ‘shaking’ back and forth from shore to shore.

Amedee ‘A5’ Frederick, son of Amedee ‘Creole Man’ Frederick, grew up playing blues with his dad and several local legends, including six consecutive years at The New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival.   With strong vocals, a wailing guitar, and generations of music steeped in the blues, he’s played venues such as the Dew Drop Jazz Hall, the Abita Opry, the House of Blues, and the Rosedale Blues Festival.

Jojjo Wight, a guitar virtuoso, began her career playing drums in a bar in the French Quarter at the age of 12.  A multi-instrumentalist, she played with her father Jamie Wight live and in the studio, and in addition to a North American tour at the age of 17, she has played the New Orleans Jazz Museum, Preservation Hall, and the French Quarter Festival for 18 years.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required