Richard Thompson – Ship To Shore (Indie Exclusive Vinyl & Signed Postcard)


Out of stock

SKU: 607396581511 Categories: , , Tag:



Release Date:  2024

Label:  New West


Track List

Side A

  1. Freeze
  2. The Fear Never Leaves You
  3. Singapore Sadie
  4. Trust

Side B

  1. The Day That I Give in
  2. The Old Pack Mule
  3. Turnstile Casanova
  4. Lost in a Crowd

Side C

  1. Maybe
  2. Life’s a Bloody Show
  3. What’s Left to Lose
  4. We Roll



2LP w/ Etched D-side

When Richard Thompson began writing songs for his latest album, Ship to Shore, the artist was instinctively drawn to his own musical roots, employing them in the service of fashioning a deep and diverse 12-track collection that pulls from various styles, genres and eras, but remains unmistakably Richard Thompson. There’s the rumbling, Motown-style rhythm that propels “Trust,” and the straightforward riff-rock of “Turnstile Casanova.” The drone-y “The Old Pack Mule,” an “old man’s song” that takes musical cues from 1600s-era European music, and “Life’s a Bloody Show,” an ode to “snake-oil salesmen and hucksters” that floats on a glammy, cabaret-like melody that’s “almost like a parody of a Noël Coward song, or something from Berlin in the 1920s,” Thompson says. “I liked the idea of having a strong base to work from and reaching out from there,” he says. “And I think of my base as being British traditional music, but there’s also Scottish music, there’s Irish music. There’s jazz and country and classical. As far as I’m concerned, once you establish your base you can reach out anywhere. It’ll still be you ringing through, wherever you decide to go musically.”

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required