Sam Cooke – Keep Movin’ On (Vinyl 2LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 018771862710 Categories: , , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date: 2020

Label:  ABKCO

180 Gram Double LP

First time on vinyl!

Plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings!


Track List

Side A

  1. (Ain’t That) Good News
  2. Rome (Wasn’t Built In A Day)
  3. Meet Me At Mary’s Place
  4. Basin Street Blues
  5. Cousin Of Mine
  6. Tennessee Waltz

Side B

  1. Falling In Love
  2. When A Boy Falls In Love
  3. Good Times
  4. Shake
  5. Yeah Man
  6. It’s Got The Whole World Shakin’

Side C

  1. The Riddle Song
  2. I’m Just A Country Boy
  3. Try A Little Love
  4. There’ll Be No Second Time
  5. Another Saturday Night
  6. Sugar Dumpling

Side D

  1. That’s Where It’s At
  2. You’re Nobody ’til Somebody Loves You
  3. (Somebody) Ease My Troublin’ Mind
  4. A Change Is Gonna Come
  5. Keep Movin’ On



Includes original essay by Peter Guralnick with expanded recording session information. The album includes the civil rights anthem “A Change is Gonna Come” and title song “Keep Movin’ On,” which was recorded just one month shy of Sam Cooke’s penultimate birthday.

Of all the phases of Sam Cooke’s brief, incandescent career — from his early gospel stardom to his amazing leap into pop and soul that almost single-handedly shoved black music into the future — none is more tantalizing than the recordings he made during his final days. From 1963 until his murder in 1964, Cooke restlessly experimented with R&B, rock and soul as he groped for the next breakthrough.

It would never come, writes Rolling Stone, but that slice of Cooke’s career, collected here while he was under contract to Abkco Records, hints at what might have lay ahead. The number that is universally recognized as Cooke’s artistic peak — “A Change Is Gonna Come,” a hauntingly soulful meditation on civil rights and the turbulence of the 1960s (left off a previous Cooke box set because of licensing problems), shows Cooke moving toward the sort of complex, moving protest music that animated Bob Dylan and Marvin Gaye. Amazingly, it may have been only his first step in that direction. Four other songs — “Good Times” and the superb “Shake,” “Yeah Man” and “It’s Got the Whole World Shakin'” — lead in the direction of brassy, rhythm-heavy soul that wouldn’t clearly emerge until a decade later with Tower of Power.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required