Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings – Give The People What They Want (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2014

Label:  Daptone Records


Track List

Side A

1. Retreat!
2. Stranger to My Happiness
3. We Get Along
4. You’ll Be Lonely
5. Now I See

Side B

1. Making Up and Breaking Up (And Making Up And Breaking Up Pver Again)
2. Get Up and Get Out
3. Long Time, Wrong Time
4. People Don’t Get What They Deserve
5. Slow Down, Love



Vocals – Sharon Jones
The Dap-Kings – Binky Griptite, Bosco Mann, Cochemea Gastelum, Dave Guy, Fernando “Boogaloo” Velez*, Homer Steinweiss, Joe Crispiano, Neal Sugarman
The Dapettes – Saundra Williams, Sheron Lavaye, Starr Duncan



With a fifth album of new studio material, Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings remain one of the most rock-solid conglomerates of classic soul revivalism. Give the People What They Want puts Jones and company in top form, delivering a collection of classic Northern soul, deep funk groovers, and heartstring-tugging balladry.

“Tracks such as ‘Now I See’ and the burning album opener “Retreat!” slink along with a creeping shuffle reminiscent of the more cracked Supremes hits, while the greasy tremolo guitar and handclap-heavy beat of ‘Long Time, Wrong Time’ call on a more swampy Southern soul influence. Jones’ voice is the true star of the show, as usual, soaring and coasting with complete command and never sacrificing any character or nuance for the sake of sounding more like any of her ’60s reference points.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required