Sister Rosetta Tharpe – Shout Sister Shout (2CD)


In stock

SKU: 70853579412 Categories: , , Tag:


Release Date: 2019

Label: Sunset Blvd. Records


Track List


  1. Shout Sister Shout
  2. Rock Daniel
  3. Didn’t It Rain
  4. Down By The Riverside
  5. Every Time I Feel The Spirit
  6. Go Ahead
  7. Jesus Is Everywhere
  8. Joshua Fit The Battle Of Jericho
  9. Up Above My Head, I Hear Music
  10. Precious Moment
  11. This Train
  12. Jesus Met The Woman At The Well
  13. Take My Hand Precious Lord
  14. Sit Down
  15. Peace In The Valley
  16. When The Saints Coming Marching In

Disc: 2

  1. He’s Got The Whole World In His Hands
  2. Down By The Riverside
  3. Is Everyone Happy?
  4. Can’t Sit Down
  5. Didn’t It Rain
  6. Go Tell It To The Mountain
  7. Jesus Met The Woman At The Well
  8. Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child
  9. Vacation In The Sky
  10. Two Little Fishes, Five Loaves Of Bread
  11. Travelin’ Shoes
  12. Nobody Knows The Trouble I’ve Seen
  13. Can’t No Grave Hold My Body Down
  14. Mansions In The Sky
  15. When Jesus Was Born



Two CD archive collection including previously unreleased group and solo recordings from 1957 to 1971. Sister Rosetta Tharpe was an American singer, songwriter, guitarist, and recording artist. She attained popularity in the 1930s and 1940s with her gospel recordings, characterized by a unique mixture of spiritual lyrics and rhythmic accompaniment that was a precursor of rock and roll. She was the first great recording star of gospel music and among the first gospel musicians to appeal to rhythm-and-blues and rock-and-roll audiences, later being referred to as “the original soul sister” and “the Godmother of rock and roll”.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required