Sonia Tetlow – A Place For Everyone


In stock

SKU: 88817498632 Categories: , Tags: , ,


Release Date – 2014

Label – Independent

Track List

  1. Mardi Gras Morning
  2. Angel Of St. Martinville
  3. Mr. Okra
  4. On Her Way
  5. A Place For Everyone
  6. This Time
  7. Bosom Of Abraham
  8. Atchafalaya
  9. Everything Comes Back Around
  10. Jupiter To The Moon
  11. Light Again
  12. Ragdoll
  13. Comfort And Light


  • Sonia Tetlow – Acoustic & Electric Guitar, Vocals, Percission
  • Linda Bailey – Drums
  • Mary Lasseigne – Bass
  • Jamie Lynn Vessels – Electric Guitar
  • Craig Klein – Trombone
  • Paul Sanchez – Electric Guitar
  • Jimmy Galloway – Electric Guitar
  • Phil Skipper – Upright Bass
  • Chardy McEwan – Cajon
  • Amy Ray – Harmony Vocals

Reviewed In OffBeat

Brett Milano (December 2014 Issue)

This is Sonia Tetlow’s third album in just under two years, including one with the acoustic group Roxie Watson last spring.

The sound here is generally more acoustic than 2013’s Own Way Home, and the writing is even more personal.

Most of the songs reflect her recent move from New Orleans to Georgia, with musicians from both cities represented (including her fellow ex-Cowboy Mouth members, Paul Sanchez and Mary Lasseigne).

Her old home figures in the more upbeat tracks here: “Mr. Okra” salutes that beloved character (impersonated by trombonist Craig Klein); the opening “Mardi Gras Morning” is about trying to feel the spirit when you’ve gone back to school and have a midterm that day.

She references getting drunk in the latter tune, but the closing “Comfort & the Light” is about the first stages of sobriety—in between come a few affecting songs about rootlessness, as the singer sorts out distances from old homes and relationships.

There are enough good hooks to draw you in, and her vocals have the right mix of sweetness and grit.

So Tetlow’s personal changes haven’t kept her from blossoming as a songwriter.

Additional information

Weight 5.0 oz
Dimensions 5.0 × 5.5 × 0.5 in
Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required