Ted Hefko And The Thousandaires – Gas Station Guru (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 061297577477 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date – 2018

Label – Onager

Gas Station Guru is the fourth album from roots and rhythm ensemble Ted Hefko and The Thousandaires.  Recorded in Ted’s hometown of New Orleans, the album will be released by Onager Records on March 22.

The record features guitarist Mem Shannon, who lent his distinctive style to “Two Vices.”  Pianist Sherman Bernard adds his authentic New Orleans feel to “Ten Dollar Hat” and “The Next Train” features contributions from members of the Cajun band T’Canaille.

Ted Hefko and The Thousandaires stir up an intoxicating brew of the profound and the profane, of virtue and vice and most importantly the volatile in-between. Ted’s songs explore hope and hustlers, saints and strays, drifters and the down-and-out. The Thousandaires — with Hefko on vocals, guitar and tenor sax — bring these stories to life with the spontaneity of jazz, the rough-hewn, bare-bones tone of backwoods folk songs and the raucous vibrancy of classic Louisiana Rhythm and Blues

Track List

Side A

  1. Two Vices
  2. The Roofer
  3. Tell Me the Truth
  4. Ride Me Down Easy


Side B

  1. The Next Train
  2. Ain’t Gonna Give You None O’ My Jellyroll
  3. Ten Dollar Hat
  4. Stop Sayin’ Unless
  5. City Of New Orleans



  • Ted Hefko – Vocals, Sax, Clarinet, Guitar
  • Elliot Slater – Electric Guitar
  • Justin Carlo Davi – Bass
  • Jasmine Butler – Drums & Percussion
  • Joe Welnick – Piano
  • Beck Burger – Hammond Organ
  • Carolyn Broussard – Backing Vocals
  • Arsene Delay – Backing Vocals
  • Antonio Gambrell – Trumpet
  • Mike Kobrin – Trumpet
  • Mem Shannon – Guitar
  • Sherman Bernard – Piano
  • Lance Caruso – Accordion
  • Latasha Covington – Rub board


Additional information

Weight 5.0 oz
Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required