The Maytals – Essential Artist Collection (Limited Edition Transparent Yellow Vinyl 2LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 4050538851694 Categories: , Tag:



Release Date:  2023

Label:  Trojan


Track List

Side A

  1. 54-46 Was My Number
  2. Night and Day
  3. One Eye Enos
  4. Bim Today (Bam Tomorrow)
  5. She’s My Scorcher
  6. Peeping Tom
  7. Struggle

Side B

  1. Monkey Man
  2. Never You Change
  3. Don’t Trouble Trouble
  4. School Days
  5. Johnny Cool Man
  6. Reborn
  7. Pressure Drop

Side C

  1. Sweet and Dandy
  2. Walk with Love
  3. Water Melon
  4. African Doctor (aka Doctor Lester)
  5. It Must Be True Love
  6. Scare Him
  7. We Shall Overcome

Side D

  1. Do the Reggay
  2. It’s You (Reggae Version)
  3. Just Tell Me
  4. Alidina
  5. Monkey Girl
  6. Oh Yeah
  7. 54-46 That’s My Number



Led by the dynamic Frederick ‘Toots’ Hibbert, The Maytals are rightly regarded as one of the greatest singing trios in the history of Jamaican music. During an incredible recording career that spanned six decades, the group scored hit after hit on the island’s music charts, with their inimitable, unique blend of fervent gospel and down-home country seemingly impervious to changes in styles and fashion. The best of their work, however, is widely regarded to be their rock steady and early reggae recordings for Leslie Kong’s revered Beverley’s Records during the late Sixties and early Seventies; a period that spawned groundbreaking work such as ’54-46′, ‘Monkey Man’ and ‘Do the Reggay’, to name but a few. The Essential Artist Collection brings together the very best of their output from this period, including the above tracks, along with numerous other classics, such as ‘Sweet And Dandy’, ‘Pressure Drop’ and ‘Night And Day’.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required