The Maytals – From The Roots (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 8719262029859 Categories: , Tag:



Release Date:  2023

Label:  Music On Vinyl


Track List

Side A

  1. Pee Pee Cluck Cluck
  2. Loving Spirit
  3. Dr. Lester
  4. Gold Silver
  5. Koo Koo
  6. Revival Reggae
  7. Thy Kingdom Come

Side B

  1. One Eye Enos
  2. A Time to Love
  3. 9 O’Clock
  4. Know Me Good
  5. Got to Feel
  6. Feel So Good
  7. Give Peace a Chance



180 gram audiophile vinyl

Limited edition of 750 individually numbered copies on yellow & translucent green marbled vinyl

From The Roots is the fourth studio album by one of the best-known ska and rocksteady vocal groups, The Maytals. The group was founded in 1962 by Toots Hibbert, Henry “Raleigh” Gordon, and Nathaniel “Jerry” Mathias. They helped popularizing reggae music during the Sixties and were even credited in the etymology of the word “Reggae” in the Oxford English Dictionary, as a result of being the first to use the word “Reggae” in their 1968 single “Do They Reggay”.

The album From The Roots was recorded by Leslie Kong and features some of The Maytals’ most explosive tunes. Fun fact, the album was already recorded in 1970, but wasn’t released until three years later, after signing to Island Records in 1973.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required