The Meters – Struttin’ (Blue Jay Vinyl LP)


Out of stock



Release Date:  2024

Label:  Jackpot Records


Track List

Side A

  1. Chicken Strut
  2. Liver Splash
  3. Wichita Lineman
  4. Joog
  5. Go For Yourself
  6. Same Old Thing

Side B

  1. Hand Clapping Song
  2. Darlin’ Darlin’
  3. Tippi-Toes
  4. Britches
  5. Hey! Last Minute
  6. Ride Your Pony



Seminal New Orleans funk.

Limited Color Vinyl Edition.

Cut from the Original Analog Master tapes.

Similar in sound to Look-Ka Py Py, Struttin’ distinguished itself with its increased emphasis on Art Neville‘s vocal stylings. (As opposed to the call-and-response shouted choruses from previous albums.)

The album included the R&B Singles hit “Chicken Strut”, soulful covers of Lee Dorsey, Ty Hunter, and even Jimmy Webb, and directed the group into a more expansive sound than before, rendering one of the most organic sounds in their discography.

Classic samples abound across Struttin’ with everyone from Dilla to A Tribe Called Quest to Whitney Houston, has had their way with Handclapping Song.

Originally released in 1970

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required