The New Orleans Ragtime Orchestra – Creole Belles


Out of stock


Release Date: 1994

Label: Arhoolie Records


Track List

  1. Creole Belles
  2. Black And White Rag
  3. Purple Rose Of Cairo
  4. War Cloud
  5. Maple Leaf Rag
  6. High Society
  7. The Entertainer
  8. The Ragtime Dance
  9. New Orleans Hop Scop Blues
  10. My Maryland
  11. The Chrysanthemum
  12. Panama
  13. Wall Street Rag
  14. Love Will Find A Way
  15. Rubber Plant Rag
  16. You Can’t Have It, I Don’t Want It
  17. Tickled To Death
  18. The Junk Man Rag
  19. Winin’ Boy Blues
  20. St. Louis Tickle
  21. Hindustan
  22. Ethiopia
  23. Red Pepper
  24. Pickles And Peppers



  • Lars Edegran – leader, piano, banjo, guitar
  • William Russell – violin
  • Lionel Ferbos – trumpet, vocals
  • Orange Kellin – clarinet
  • Paul Crawford – trombone
  • Frank Fields – bass
  • Richard Payne – bass, tuba
  • John  Robichaux – drums, vocals



The repertory of the New Orleans Ragtime Orchestra, formed in 1967, focuses on late 19th- and early 20th-century American ragtime music. Combining African rhythms with traces of post-Civil War marches and Euro-American dances, ragtime music is characterized by its syncopated rhythm or “ragged time” beat. Originally played as piano music, it was taken up by brass, wind, string, and percussion instruments. In this compilation, the first segment recorded in 1971 and the second in 1989, the New Orleans Ragtime Orchestra plays both well-known and lesser-known music from the ragtime era.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required