Tommy Mclain – Moving To Heaven (RSD 2024 Limited Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 634457156258 Categories: , , Tag:


In 2003, Swamp Pop pioneer Tommy McLain self-released his album Moving to Heaven. An extremely rare piece of Louisiana music history, Moving to Heaven only existed as a CD that Tommy himself pressed 500 copies of more than two decades ago. Tommy sold the CDs at his shows on the bayou and that was the only place to purchase this mysterious album. Featuring extremely DIY production techniques and spooky synthesizer sounds, this was Tommy McLain at his most raw and spiritual. Tommy wrote every song and plays every instrument on Moving to Heaven as he vocalizes about life, death and forgiveness.
Many years later, Elvis Costello found a CD of Moving to Heaven in a Louisiana record store and fell in love with the music. Costello was a fan of Tommy ever since hearing him back in the ‘70s on the compilation Another Saturday Night, but he knew that Moving to Heaven was something special. Costello and Tommy would eventually meet in 2010 at a Bobby Charles tribute concert where Costello professed his love of Moving to Heaven to Tommy in-person. “I would go to local, secondhand record shops looking for albums by people like Tommy McLain,” Costello told the New York Times in 2022.
Yep Roc Records is excited to announce the first-ever vinyl pressing of Moving to Heaven. Pressed on heavenly blue color vinyl and featuring updated lyrics and liner notes from Tommy McLain, this pressing is limited to 1,000 copies worldwide. The album has been remastered for vinyl by Mike Westbrook at MW Audio, the vinyl lacquer cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio, and the record itself pressed at the state-of-the-art facilities at Citizen Vinyl in Asheville, North Carolina, This rare artifact of the Swamp Pop genre is finally found and sounds better than ever.

A1. Tommy McLain Testimony
A2. Moving to Heaven
A3. You’ll Love This Heaven Too
A4. Miracles
A5. High Class Fool (King Herod)
B1. Love Hurt Hope
B2. You’re Not Dancing to Wings on a Dove
B3. Cold in This House
B4. Looking for a Man Named Jesus
B5. In Prayer
B6. Radio Maria Theme Song
B7. Tommy McLain Bio (Carol Skaggs)

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required