Various Artists – Look But Don’t Touch: Girl Group Sounds USA 62-66 (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2022

Label:  Ace Records


Track List

Side A

  1. Hey, Rocky – The Shirelles
  2. My Little Baby – The Witches
  3. Nobody Loves Me – The Ikettes
  4. He Calls Me Child – 2 of Clubs
  5. A Dumb Song – The Delicates
  6. Chico – Linda Laurie
  7. Tossin’ A Ice Cube – the Hollywood Chicks

Side B

  1. Baby That’s Me – The Carolines
  2. Don’t Worry About Me Baby (I Feel Just Fine) – Mayalta Page
  3. Sweet Kind of Loneliness – The Darlettes
  4. You May Be Holding My Baby – The Pussycats
  5. I Wanna Know Right Now – Carol Slade
  6. My Baby Looks, But He Don’t Touch – Carol Connors
  7. Chu Sen Ling – The Bermudas



Ace Records has been the go-to source of 1960s girl group compilations since the release of our “Where The Girls Are”, “Girls About Town” and “Stop, Look & Listen” vinyl albums back in the 1980s. The 10-volume “Where The Girls Are” CD series followed over the next 30 years or so, along with a number of standalone CD collections. These days, however, the 12-inch long-player is back as the format of choice for discerning collectors. “Look But Don’t Touch!”, the fourth in our current series of gorgeously packaged vinyl girl group compilations, drops this month. The album opens with the discotheque-friendly ‘Hey, Rocky’ by front cover stars the Shirelles of New Jersey, the USA’s most successful girl group until the Supremes broke through and stole their thunder, and closes with the Bermudas’ ‘Chu Sen Ling’, a record sure to appeal to those who favour the ethereal West Coast sound. Other highlights include the Hollywood Chicks’ dance craze disc ‘Tossin’ A Ice Cube’ (sic), which marks the recording debut of Barry White (on handclaps); great tracks by the Witches, the Pussycats and Linda Laurie from the catalogue of genius songwriter/producer Bert Berns; Mayalta Page’s densely produced rarity ‘Don’t Worry About Me Baby (I Feel Just Fine)’; and, and for the girl group buff who has everything, ‘He Calls Me Child’ by Ohio duo the 2 Of Clubs and ‘A Dumb Song’ by the soulful Delicates, both of which are previously unreleased.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required