Various Artists – New Orleans Funk (CD)


In stock


Release Date: 2004

Label: Soul Jazz Records


Track List

  1. Handclapping Song – The Meters
  2. Hip Drop – The Explosions
  3. Who’s Gonna Help Brother Get Further – Lee Dorsey
  4. It’s Gonna Rain – Gentleman June Gardner
  5. Check Your Bucket – Eddie Bo
  6. Big Chief – Professor Longhair
  7. Free Single And Disengaged – Huey ‘Piano’ Smith & His Clowns
  8. Can I Be Your Squeeze – Chuck Carbo
  9. Hercules – Aaron Neville
  10. I’ve Got Reasons – Mary Jane Hooper
  11. Gator Bait – The Gaturs
  12. Get Out Of My Life Woman – Allen Toussaint
  13. Tell Me What’s On Your Mind – Cyril Neville
  14. Handa Wanda – Bo Dollis & The Wild Magnolia Mardi Gras Indian Band
  15. Love Lots Of Lovin – Lee Dorsey And Betty Harris
  16. Garden Of Four Trees – The Explosions
  17. Dap Walk – Ernie & The Top Notes
  18. Just Kissed My Baby – The Meters
  19. Reborn – Marilyn Barbarin
  20. Mama Roux – Dr. John
  21. Natural Soul Brother – Danny White
  22. Hook ‘N’ Sling (PT II) – Eddie Bo
  23. Here Come The Girls – Ernie K. Doe
  24. Hip-Huggin – Robert Parker



This is the definitive collection of New Orleans Funk featuring acknowledged masters next to some of the earlier artists who shaped the meaning of funk. The album is also filled with many rare, sought after and undiscovered funk tracks. It covers the period from the emergence of New Orleans Funk in the early 1960’s through to the mid-seventies.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required