Various Artists – Studio One Scorcher – Instrumentals (Vinyl 3LP)


In stock



Release Date:  2024

Label:  Soul Jazz Records


Track List

Side A

  1. The Skatalites – Coconut Rock
  2. Cedric Im Brooks & The Sound Dimension – Mun-Dun-Gu
  3. Tommy Mccook, Richard Ace, The Skatalites & Disco Height – Shocker’s Rock

Side B

  1. Soul Vendors – Ringo Rock
  2. Jackie Mittoo & Ernest Ranglin – Jericho Skank
  3. New Establishment – The People Skanking
  4. Karl Bryan & The Afrokats – Money Generator

Side C

  1. Lester Sterling – Afrikaan Beat
  2. Sound Dimension – Heavy Rock
  3. Sugar Belly – In Cold Blood

Side D

  1. Don Drummond & The Skatalites – Heavenless
  2. Soul Bros. – Bugaloo
  3. Vin Gordon – Red Blood

Side E

  1. Pablove Black – Push Pull
  2. Jackie Mittoo & Brentford Rockers – Sidewalk Doctor
  3. Liberation Group – Namibia

Side F

  1. Brentford Road All Stars – Last Call
  2. Soul Defenders – Still Calling
  3. Karl Bryan & Count Ossie – Black Up



New one-off press limited edition transparent MAGENTA coloured triple vinyl edition (+ download code) of Soul Jazz Records long unavailable Studio One Scorcher featuring a blistering collection of rare and classic cuts recorded at Studio One.

Studio One Scorcher is one of the most important collection in Soul Jazz Records’ Studio One series, bringing together an unmissable collection of stand-out cuts from many of the finest players ever in Jamaica and in reggae music.

Featuring The Skatalites, Jackie Mittoo, Tommy McCook, Cedric Brooks, Tommy McCook, The Sound Dimension, Don Drummond, Brentford Road All Stars and more – this triple album is the bomb. Heavy, heavy tunes from start to finish! All killer no filler!

These tunes encompass ska, rocksteady, roots, dub and more. Studio One instrumentals are the foundation of Reggae. They literally define reggae music! Many of these classic recordings became the basis for everything that followed in reggae music, replayed and versioned 1000s of times.

Here you will find Jackie Mittoo’s seminal ‘Sidewalk Doctor’, Don Drummond Jnr’s classic ‘Heavenless’, The Soul Vendors’ Ringo Rock’ and the Sound Dimension’s ‘Heavy Rock’. All original artists and original classic tunes, all on one album. Not to mention a host of utterly superb rarities from the mighty vaults of Studio One. 100% essential!

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required