Various Artists – This is Fame 1964-1968 (Vinyl 2-LP Set)


Out of stock

SKU: 029667005111 Categories: , Tags: , , ,


*This is a Vinyl 2-LP Set*

Release Date:  2016

Label:  Kent Records


Track List

Side A

  1. Steal Away – Jimmy Hughes
  2. It Tears Me Up – James Barnett
  3. She Ain’t Gonna Do Right – Clarence Carter
  4. I Can’t Stop (No, No, No) – Arthur Conley
  5. That Kind of Lovin’ – Otis Clay
  6. Fortune Teller – the Del-Rays

Side B

  1. Slippin’ Around with You – Art Freeman
  2. Keep on Talking – James Barnett
  3. Hi-Heel Sneakers – Jimmy Hughes
  4. Long Ago – Ben & Spence
  5. Don’t Make Me Hate Loving You – Jeanie Greene
  6. (Take Me) Just As I Am – Dan Penn

Side C

  1. Back in Your Arms – George Jackson
  2. Feed the Flame – Billy Young
  3. You Really Know How to Hurt a Guy – Ralph “Soul” Jackson
  4. Thread the Needle – Clarence Carter
  5. A Piece of My Heart – Art Freeman
  6. Wish You Didn’t Have to Go – Spooner & The Spoons

Side D

  1. Almost Persuaded – June Conquest
  2. I’m Gonna Forget About You – Arthur Conley
  3. Take a Good Look – James Barnett
  4. Come on Home – Herman Moore
  5. Blind Can’t See – Richard Earl & the Corvettes
  6. I Worship the Ground You Walk on – Jimmy Hughes



Fame Records was an off-shoot of the legendary FAME Studio, and this compilation looks at the very best of the label’s work during it’s first four years. Helmed by owner Rick Hall, aided and abetted by his team including Dan Penn, Spooner Oldham and the Swampers house band, this is some of the very finest music from the birth of Southern soul. It features hits by Clarence Carter and Jimmy Hughes, Northern soul classics from James Barnett and Art Freeman, recordings by Dann Penn and Spooner Oldham, as well as the choicest unreleased at the time cuts that we have unearthed during our trawls of the tape vault. The full colour booklet includes an in-depth sleeve note and many beautiful photographs sourced from the Fame Studio archive.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required