Atta Kid – East Basics


In stock

SKU: 78011462872 Categories: , , Tag:


Release Year: 2014

Label: Independent

Track List

  1. Swamp City
  2. Kick Service
  3. Top Doff
  4. Touch And Go
  5. Waterline
  6. The Stake
  7. Happy Herd


  • Max Cowan – Organ and Wurlitzer
  • Daniel Casares – Saxophone
  • Mike Olmos – Trumpet
  • Jason Muscat – Bass
  • Jermal Watson – Drums

Reviewed In OffBeat

Brett Milano (January 2015 Issue)

Atta Kid’s connection to New Orleans is largely spiritual, though members of the Bay Area band have played with local icons including Irma Thomas and Zigaboo Modeliste.

They’re a funky jam band using Meters-like grooves as springboards for lengthy, vocal-free workouts. Much of this album is about grooving for its own sake, though the best moments happen when they shake things up compositionally:

The eight-minute “Touch & Go” gives everyone space for a solo, then shifts into a surprising, heavy-guitar coda.

Founders Max Cowan (organ) and Daniel Casares (sax) get most of the solo space and earn it; Cowan’s solos have a tasty Jimmy Smith vibe and Casares’ parts are often doubled by trumpet, for a vintage Tower of Power feel.

If you miss Galactic before they discovered electronica and hip-hop, this one is for you.

Additional information

Weight 5.5 oz
Dimensions 5.0 × 5.5 × .5 in
Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required