Bad Penny Pleasuremakers – Hello Bluebird (CD)


In stock


Release Date: 2024

Label: Bigtone Records


Track List

  1. Wake Up! Chill’un Wake Up!
  2. When My Dreamboat Comes Home
  3. Jazz Me Blues
  4. Ooh Daddy Blues
  5. Nobody But My Baby
  6. Mississippi Delta Blues
  7. Steamboat Keep Rockin’
  8. Lonesome All Alone And Blue
  9. Ghost Of The St. Louis Blues
  10. Chili Blues
  11. Bye Bye Blackbird
  12. Baby O’ Mine
  13. Headin’ For The River
  14. Whoop It Up



New Orleans-based Bad Penny Pleasuremakers ,Matt Bell & Joy Patterson, met on a blind date shortly after Hurricane Katrina, in 2005, and have playing music as a duo and with full bands ever since. They play ragtime, acoustic blues, country blues & traditional jazz from pre-WW2 America, with a focus on Louisiana history and roots.

This album is a collection of songs that came together during the pandemic and was recorded shortly after lockdown in several sessions at Bigtone Records. These songs became a lifeline during the long months of isolation and recording them is a celebration of the resiliency of music and life.

The Album title, “Hello Bluebird!” is a reference to Josephine Baker’s 1926 recording of that song. To us it is synonymous with Bye Bye Blackbird, a song of personal struggle and universal loss, as well as the ray of hope that only music can bring.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required